biting

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EatPrayLove

Reaction score
I am new to the mantis world. So far, the only claim I have to my new hobby is a sharp learning curve. I hatched an egg case for my kindergarten class and ordered an extra one to hatch at home. I have a few T. Sinensis left that are about 3 months old now.  Recently, I've been bitten - more than once! 

I planned to raise these few to bring back to the school in the fall but I'm now worried they may bite the kiddos....? 

? more feeding?

? more water ?

What am I missing?

Have you been handling feeders or anything they might be interested in before handling the mantises? I have had a few nibble on me if my hands were not clean but all the biting incidents I have encountered have been from sick mantises. There was one female that just liked to bite people but she was a weirdo. 

Are you perhaps picking them up quickly or in a way that stresses them out?

I've haven't been bitten but almost. I have an adult female and they are just thinking about eating lol. The way I picked her up made her think my finger may have been food haha. Maybe when picking up do so slower. And make sure not to pick them up with just one finger as I did.

I'm a little late to this thread, but how are you handling the mantises and how often? You should never pick them up; you have to get them to walk onto you, and be careful to make sure that the mantis touches you and not the other way around. My dad was holding my mantis once, and the mantis didn't want to sit still. My dad was frantic not to lose him and was shoving his hand against the raptorial legs to get it on his other hand before it could escape, and that made things worse because of how skittish it made the mantis.