Hello from Carolina

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SunOfRa

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am new to the mantis world. I have always enjoyed them, but never had the chance to keep one as a pet. One day in Spring, I ran across what I thought was an ant outside my parent's home. It ended up being a nymph (Stagmomantis Carolina). I went to the local pet store and picked up a nice little atrium and some fruit flies and prepared my new home for my little friend. By the time I had found that this site existed, my little buddy had molted into a full adult but had taken a turn for the worst, passing away today. I plan on getting another mantis, or a few mantids, and find an intrigue with these beautiful and complex insects.

Welcome! Very nice to have you here - I'm sure you'll love it as much as I did! (And still do... :) )

Have you been thinking about any species of mantis in particular?

Last edited by a moderator:
I am thinking about getting a Phyllocrania paradoxa next. They look so fascinating!
Hey! I'm new to keeping them as well, and I have a few weeks experience with Phyllocrania paradoxa. They are calm and very inquisitive. Every now and then they'll go a little crazy and run around, but for the most part they like to just chill and hang upside-down. They've been kind of lazy when it comes to "hunting" their prey as well.

I keep all of mine in the same container, but I do have to watch out. I have little fear that they'll eat each other, but they do like to play "rock 'em sock 'em robots" every once and a while.