How to catch a Wile Mantis

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dr walkrr

Reaction score
Hey All,

So I have seen a lot of posts regarding people out mantis hunting in the wild. I am a newbie and I live in Arizona, I was hoping to get some advice on where I should be looking to find these elusive wild mantids (I know they are really not that hard to find). This thread can also be for other areas or just stories about good mantis hunting.

wink.gif
In the city, they like to stay on brick or block buildings, it is warmer there, in fields or grassy yards they like the foliage, and I have always found mine on top of it, but others will find them elsewhere.

In most places weedy meadows, overgrown fence lines and ditches. Basically weedy areas with lots of feeder insects. If you step into a weedy area and you see tons of grasshoppers fleeing, you know that is a good place. Then you gotta have the 'eye' to see them. Things are probably different out there though.

Here are some of my old threads with tons of pics. There are good pics of the habitats that contain lots of mantids. Your areas will likely be different though:

http://mantidforum.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=15655

http://mantidforum.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=15561

http://mantidforum.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=15727

http://mantidforum.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=11783

http://mantidforum.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=15886

Last edited by a moderator:
Wow Rick, you have some great spots, and eyes. Do you often get stung and bitten when in the brush? :eek: I am often fearful of going too deep, and only stick to the edges of heavy foliage. I don't find many mantids that way.