New Ooth by African Mantid!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cytronix

Reaction score
My mantid (miomantis caffra) laid an ooth top edge of the container. Really excited to see its progress and the day it hatches :D . Apparently my mom took it off and placed it elsewhere in the container so Im going to have to place it back where it was. Since I'm a beginner at keeping a Mantid and my first time caring for an Ooth I just want to know when should I expect the Ooth to hatch and if it needs diapause to in order for it to hatch and any other tips for looking after an ooth. 

I live in New Zealand and going into Winter in less than a week the average temperature in my house would be about 13-16C (55F to 60F).

Last edited by a moderator:
This is the Ooth. My mother was trying to trap a fly into the container but was unaware she was kind of crushing the Ooth in the process  :(  I really hope its okay 

She did take it out. The other side seemed fine. I just realised while placing the Ooth back.

IMG_0447.JPG

IMG_0448.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Diapause if only for seasonal species in cold environments, and that is definitely not one of those - and will simply kill the eggs if you diapause the ooth.

The ooth incubation time is, "Incubation: 28-40 days at 75-80F w/ 60-80% humidity or mist everyday." As it is a Miomantis sp. the same basics caresheets apply although there is some variations such as hatching nymph amount and such. Here is the caresheets for the Miomantis binotata and the Miomantis paykullii.