New to mantids. Which breed.

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZephyrStar

Reaction score
*probably should say species instead of breed*

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting, but I have been looking around for a few weeks. I am new to the hobby, but I do remember having praying mantis in middle school as a class project.

After my sister gave me an ootheca she found I have been gathering supplies for the last few weeks while it incubates In a tank with heat lamp. I am pretty sure it is a Chinese mantis ooth, because of its shape and that is what's local around here.

I have been building some containers to keep them in and I have come up with some (I think) interesting new ways of modifying the plastic bins I see people use that I look forward to sharing sometime soon.

As I have been doing more research on the subject, I'm not sure I want to raise a species as large as The Chinese, and have been looking into several different options such as miomantis paykulli and miomantis binotata (spelling?), but don't want to spend a lot of money just yet. I have already spent more than I planned on on supplies because I got a little carried away... Any opinions on which would be better for a beginner like me?

I have a few pros or cons of each

Chinese:

Pros:

Local, if I have to many I can release them outside. Also, I already have an ooth, though I'm not sure it's good

Cons: large, they kind of freak me out (but obviously I'm still fascinated by them)

Miomantis paykulli:

Pros:

Small, cute

Cons:

Can't release outside if I get too many to handle and I hear the breed profusely.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Tenodera Sinensis is a great start off species in my opinion. They start small and they indeed grow on you. My first mantis was a T.sin named Echo and she was the sweetest one I've owned yet.