Some of my snakes

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danl82

Reaction score
I don't just keep mantids, I've been keeping various "exotics" for over 30 years. Reptiles and amphibians mostly.

I took a couple of pics of a few of my current collection.

First my adult male everglades ratsnake

Pantherophis obseletus 2.jpgPantherophis obseletus.jpg

and one his young from this year, 14 days old

Everglades 1.jpg

One of a young pair of ladder ratsnakes

Zamensis scalaris.jpg

My female tartar sand boa

Eryx tartaricus.jpgEryx tartaricus 2.jpg

and finally my breeding pair of leopard ratsnakes, these are nervous by nature so I just took the lid of their hide box so as not to disturb them too much.

Zamensis situla.jpg

Glad to see I'm not alone. There isn't a decent forum over here atm for herp stuff, so thought I'd share some of it here. The state of the hobby has gone in some funny directions and the only forum in the uk reflects that.

Neato! Those are some cool snakes 😊 I could use their help clearing rats off my property! Maybe I should be getting into snakes...

Due to parental restrictions I'm stuck with my 3 corn snakes and a couple milk snakes at the moment, but those are several species I intend to have some day! Love the various old-world ratsnakes....

I used to have a lot more, especially Asian ratsnakes and small pythons. But I downsized a lot when my children were born. I'm now at the point of slowly rebuilding a collection again.

A couple of more pictures

First is my male rosy boa, this is currently the oldest snake in my collection.  He came with me to university and had him for a couple of years prior to that so he is over 20 years old.  I found a female for him about 16 years ago and most years they breed.  Found them hooked up recently so hopefully this year as well.

Lichanura trivirgata.jpg