Found a gravid Chinese

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

micheleinvirginia

Reaction score
I found this girl outside a few days ago and wanted to share a picture of her. She looks like she is about to explode with eggs but she doesnt even want to stay on the branches I gave her. Is there a way to tell when they are about to lay? She is also refusing food and wont fly.

fatmama10.jpg

is that a female its wings go past is abdomin ... or maybe is just so fat tha it kinda came inward lol
Just because the wings go past abdomen doesnt mean its a male.. it has deffinatly got 5 segments. I reckon it will lay within 2-3 days

sorry I am new at this hobby, i wasnt sure. :shock: she is HUGE lol well hope u get lots of babies in the future if you plan to keep the ooth. good find :D

is that a female its wings go past is abdomin ... or maybe is just so fat that it kinda came inward lol
In the case of the Chinese females, I've yet to find one whose wings didn't go past her abdomen. They actually do fly, not all that far nor very gracefully but they can fly. Once gravid, they fly less.

I've read that the Carolina females wings are shorter than her abdomen, not sure about the European females.

Rgds,

Louis

Looks like this female chinese mantis is either gravid or just had a "great" meal. I believed she is most likely mated and ready to lay ootheca soon. All the best!!

Thanks all.

Do they stop eating before they lay? I have caught 4 males of various sizes and they all ate right away.. however she wont. Im guessing its because she's gravid?? If its stress.. I will let her go. If its cause those eggs are comin out then I will keep her for a bit longer!

It's a female. I can tell on most species at a glance. No need to count segments. They seem to eat right up until they lay. She is a little plump but not really that fat. They get much fatter.