Molting

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys...I am kinda new to the manthis world. My daughter got her ghost manthis at the end of august. So far it has only molted once and that was at the end of September.  Is this normal?

Hi guys...I am kinda new to the manthis world. My daughter got her ghost manthis at the end of august. So far it has only molted once and that was at the end of September.  Is this normal?
that depends...

ghosts are slow to mature, and so if your ghost molted to the subadult stage, it's probably another few weeks away from a molt. if it molted to an adult (with wings), it will NEVER molt again

also, what are your parameters? cooler temps will make molts less frequent. ghosts are a madagascan species that probably grow best at about 80F. While temps in the 60s will suffice for them, the development time to maturity will certainly be a LOT longer. I suspect that the species that grow at a decent pace at room temperature have enzymes that have wider thermal optima. This would be confirmed by rearing a number of species at different temps and seeing how much an increase in temperature decreases development time for each. my suspicion is that some species, while their growth rate still increases with an increase in temp, increase by a smaller factor (so perhaps 1.5 times instead of 2 times)

also, @Rick please move this thread to the general discussions :)

Hi guys...yes Larry is still following the forum. I appreciate the info but that went way over our heads. Larry lives at room tempature in san diego. So probably about 70-75 but has a small light kept on him. For sure Larry in not a adult. He's the size of a nickel give or take