European Mantis Care.

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MantisTrainer

Reaction score
I posted about this a little while back but didn't get any replies, that was probably my fault for asking so many questions so I will be brief.
1. I have a wild-found Mantis religiosa ootheca in the fridge that I collected in October, I plan to hatch it around April or May. currently, the only care I am providing it with is a slightly moist paper towel to keep the eggs hydrated. Is there any additional care I should provide it with while it is in the fridge?
2. If the ootheca hatches, I plan to keep one or more but I've heard that this species is prone to dieoffs and can be difficult to care for as nymphs. I am relatively new to this hobby and this will be my second time raising mantids from hatchlings(my first mantids are a couple of Tenodera sinensis which probably wasn't the best option for a first-timer). Is there anything specific I can do to prevent any possible dieoffs or, in general, successfully raise this species?
Thanks in advance.

1. just be sure the paper towel stays slightly moist
2: The best success I had with rearing these was to put a small number of nymphs in a large net cage with a living plant. gut-load your fruit flies and mist the nymphs regularly. there's a quite high die-off with these

2: The best success I had with rearing these was to put a small number of nymphs in a large net cage with a living plant. gut-load your fruit flies and mist the nymphs regularly. there's a quite high die-off with these
besides the live plant, do I need to add any substrate? I know that the survival rate usually gets better as nymphs get older, is that the case with this species?

besides the live plant, do I need to add any substrate? I know that the survival rate usually gets better as nymphs get older, is that the case with this species?