P. ocellata breeding

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bugzilla

Reaction score
The male arrived on breeding loan yesterday so I've tried the pair together today. He's watched her intently for a few hours but made no move towards her. She is 4 weeks adult but I'm not sure how old he is (at least a week).

I put them in a 18x18x12in wide tank with a few twigs. They've both eaten in here.

IMG_1404.gif

Should I seperate them at this point since there's no sign of action or leave them together (seems risky)

I'm new to breeding mantis so any advice is welcome.

Thanks

Huw

Last edited by a moderator:
seprate them..if u think that the male has been adult for only 1 week then hes not ready..You could try at week 2 but week 3 is safer.i think i rember using my male when he was 19 days old.

Scratch the original questions. The female literally walked up to the male and danced for him. What fella could resist :p

On he gets

IMG_1406.gif

Not too sure what to do

IMG_1407.gif

Getting there

IMG_1408.gif

ATM hes trying to find where it goes while she stands patiently for him

HAPPY DAYS :D :D :D

scratch what i said in the PM just now, only just saw this thread. he has been adult for about a month, i forget exactly how long but it doesnt really matter, i know he is old enough to be sexually mature but not too old to mate, young enough to be in good health and all that. glad to see he is on his way to getting the job done, fingers crossed!

congrats,,try and make sure u see them connect for at least 15mins...your know for sure its fertile then..mine where connected for about 11 hours.

They finally connected at 18:00 and still connected as of 23:00. I've had to put thm in a large tank and hope for the best. What a STALL :p ION