Doug from Cali

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

d17oug18

Reaction score
hey everyone, my name is doug, im 24 and im kinda new to have praying mantises, i had one about a year and a half ago that i caught at probably its 4th or 5th shed. it was a regular green mantis (i dont know there real names) it grew to about 6" and i called it monkey lol. let me know if you want to know the story. anywaz i didnt now they could be tamed, i had him trained to leave the cage and come back in on que! it was pretty cool and he was a soldier he fought me from picking him up until he was an adult :rolleyes: (all others that i have had either run like the wind or just let me pick them up.) he attacked me about 5 times lol, well i had him for about 6 months as an adult and didnt know there life span at the time and was really sad when he died. well after a while when i stopped crying lol(just kidding) i found more and started raising them but still didnt now about male female so they just ate each other. well ive done a ALOT of research and i just raised mantis' from an ootheca, there so hard to raise, and thats my story, im hoping to get so many that i can start to sell them. i want to make the strongest and biggest and breed them =) i love mantises now.