Addicted to vaseline

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

patrickfraser

Reaction score
I collect vaseline glass and also make beaded jewelry with vaseline glass beads. What makes it really cool, I think, is that it glows under black light. What makes it glow is that it contains uranium. It is also called uranium glass.

Well, the reason for my post is that I made somewhat of a butterfly pendant and was wondering what you thought. I am changing offices and came into a lot of copper wire and thought I'd try to make something. It kind of just came together, but I think it turned out kinda cute. I never tried any wire wrapping, as I have no experience and copper wire is pretty expensive to practice with. But why not dabble if the resources present themselves, right?

Under regular light:

DSCN2596.jpg

With Flash:

DSCN2599.jpg

And what makes it really POP...Under a black light (Great for clubbing):

DSCN2593.jpg

That's pretty neat! I've done crafts for as long as I can remember and especially love making my own jewelry...but this is the first time I've heard of "vaseline glass"! Have you ever tried making "viking knit"? Just do a quick google search on it...it's really neat...and a great way to use up lots of wire! ;)

I've never heard of it. Do you make it from vaseline?

Uranium is/was added in the production of the glass for the color. I don't believe it is produced any longer and most of my beads are vintage that I've acquired throughout the years. I haven't made much jewelry lately, as I could never wear all I have made already. I will look up "viking knit". It sounds impressive with a name like that. I got creative and made a worm/caterpillar this morning. I will post it later.

Wait, How did you use up all the vaseline that was in the jars? Forget it I don't want to know. :pinch: :no: (joke :lol: )