Just seeing if I am doing this right!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DJ_deejay

Reaction score
So... this is my first attempt at keeping mantids (used to manage a pet shop and came across a picture of an orchid mantis and fell in love...). These are "Blue Flash" at L1... is my enclosure too big? They are in 32oz cups with cloth lids and to avoid overcrowding the cup I opted for a single "perch" for them. I mist them once a day (3 or 4 squirts) and I try to throw in no more than 3 ff's at a time. I use paper towels cut to size for the bottom which I change about every other day. Just looking for a basic check up and to make sure I am doing this right!!!

Hw8Wy.jpg

I have five of the little buggers (better chance for a mating ratio) and even though they are in a window it gets indirect sunlight. I checked with a digital thermometer and it seems the temperature in the cups ranges from about 70 degrees at night to 80 at the highest during the day (I was paranoid I was going to bake them!!!). So here they are!

ONuOM.jpg

Next time I think I'm going to put the feeding hole in the top... stupid fruit flies and their inability to traverse a simple air tubing setup...