What Substrate should I use?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr.Smith

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the whole sphere of Mantis stuff, and I was wondering if some of you guys could recommend me a substrate to use... I have found many substrates, but I just cant decide on which one to use, or get. I am getting an Spiny Flower Mantis (Pseudocreobotra Wahlbergii)

Potting soil is usually composed of composted greenwaste. There could be toxins from plants or from chemicals that were used on the plants.
It's also a very good way to introduce harmful bacteria, parasites, and fungi into enclosures.

Paper towels are convenient because you can see if they get dirty, they don't come with a wide variety of contaminants, and they can be quickly replaced.

I have some coco fiber, but I heard mantises don't get much footing with them, I was thinking about getting some Sphagnum orchid moss, It helps with humidity, but I heard it stinks?

Last edited by a moderator:
I, too, use paper towels in many of my enclosures (net & 80 ounce plastic enclosures). I've used cocoa fiber in the past in some of my terrariums. My mantids were rarely on the bottom of the enclosure, and I never noticed any issues with this.

Pseudocreobotra Wahlbergii don't do well with high humidity..... So use paper towel or like I do have no substrate..... I normally just have fine mesh at the bottom with these...... Spray then a very little amount of water just n the walls (not the mantis) once a week.....