2nd batch of Chinese Mantis nymphs hatched and dies within days HELP!!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oolong

Reaction score
Hi I am a newbie to Mantis care. I ordered some casing online. Once I received them I hung them with a string inside a critter carrier cage. 2 of the casings hatched. I fed them pinhead crickets and flightless fruit flies. Since the case was too small I transferred them to a 10 gallon tank. I misted the sides of the tank with water making sure there would be no puddles. With in a day they were all dead. It looked like they had somehow stiffened and froze. I put another set of casing in the same tank and one of them just hatched 2 days ago. Again did the misting and fed them the fruit flies only this time ( I thought the pinhead crickets may be too big). After hatching they were very active, ,moving about and going up the side of the tank but again with in a day or so they all stiffened up and now most of them are dead. The ones that are still alive make sudden spastic moves but I don't think they will last long. Please help me and let me know what I am doing wrong. I have another 3 casings that may hatch any day and I would really like to get some of them to survive and grow.

Many thanks

Oolong

IMG_0862.JPG

Since u said there were no puddles that cancels the idea of them drowning... wait... Maybe they did drown from too much moisture on the sides of the tank. Otherwise I don't know what to say

Does your city do any bug spraying? like for Mosquitos? That will kill them! Also make sure they're at the right temperature 70-80f.

Also maybe try getting feeder insects from somewhere else, they might have something on or in them poisoning your mantids?

Last edited by a moderator: