Allo!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

Lets see, the basic details... My name is Lorena. I'm in my late 20s and from New York. I'm not currently working but I'm looking to go back to school for a second masters in family and marital therapy soon (I have a masters in forensic psych already but am interested in getting into couple's therapy).

I currently have six tarantulas (of varying sizes and species) and have been into the tarantula hobby for about two years now. I also have an albino African Pygmy hedgehog named Elric. I've been interested in mantids for a while but was scared away a bit by the short lifespan. Apparently I just can't be satisfied with "normal" pets.

A friend of mine is a HS bio teacher. She apparently found an oothaca on a hiking trip recently and didn't realize it hadn't already hatched, so she brought it home to put in her classroom. As you've probably already guessed by now a couple of weeks ago she came home to an apartment filled with little baby mantids.

Being an awesome person she actually took the time to catch as many as she could and called me to find out what she could do with them. She's been caring for them since in her classroom and apparently they've shed once. Sometime within the next couple of days she's going to give me two of the nymphs and a fruit fly culture, so it seems I'll be getting into the hobby after all. :)

Hey Lorena,

Have a rosehair named Morticia, hedgehog named Sonic (ssshhhhh!! they're not legal in CA), and a plethora of other things too numerous to list.

Roz.

Thanks everyone!