Be gentle...and Hello!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello! My name is Maribeth (obviously), and I am a newbe to mantids. I'm 30 years old, married and I have a 20 month old daughter. I'm a full time student, majoring in Biology with a minor in Anthropology, and I'm currently looking into grad schools. I took an invertebrate Zoology course this semester, and I'm loving it. We are required to do a culture project, where we pick an invertebrate, observe as much of its life cycle as possible, and then present to the class. I originally planned on getting rhino beetles, but they're illegal to import into my state, so I had to pick something else. I called around, and found a place that sold various insects. I went in, and picked out an Idolomantis diabolica. Yes, I am an idiot. I asked about its care and they gave me all the wrong information. I joined a group on Facebook to learn about my mantis, as I didn't really know where else to go. I only had the common name, and they really helped me to fix all the things that the shop told me that were wrong, i.e. temp, humidity, etc. I've had her for about a month now, (I think it's a her, but not 100%), and she just moulted into L5 tonight. I got her as an l3. I've fallen in love with mantids, and I now have 6; an idolo, 2 P. wahlbergii, an S. viridis green, an S. viridis blue morph, and an R. basalis. Needless to say, I am addicted. I culture my own blue bottles, D. heydii, and am starting to breed crickets. I'm in for life, now, and I can't wait to learn everything I can, and more. Thanks for reading!

Maribethasaurus

Hi Maribeth, welcome to the forum!