beginner advice: low vs high land

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JADzilla

Reaction score
I've been interested in carnivorous plants for years actually and I want to venture into growing Nepenthes along side my orchids.

my question is what land and plants would you guys recommend to start with. I live in Southern California, Long Beach. I'm hoping to grow them as window sill and not in a terrarium.

i asked yahoo answers few months ago, someone replied with a High Land with Ventricosa and Judith Finns. does that sound good?

Last edited by a moderator:
Plants and I don't get along. No advice, but nice to see you're from this Long Beach. I have Chinese mantises presently and am expanding. Let me know if you are looking for anything. I drive through Long Beach almost daily. I am also a veteran and use the VA in Long Beach.

Hey Jad,

Yes, those two will do nicely. As well as N. sanguinea, N x 'Miranda' (if you have room - he a big one. Yes, he. Sterile, but worth growing if you have space), N. ventricosa x truncata is also large, but easy.... That should get you started!

Nepenthes alata x ventricosa is comonly sold in nurseries, and can be grown out doors. Very easy and grows bog!

Grow N. maxima. It will do great in your window next to your orchids. I live in so cal, so our conditions are likely pretty similar. I also have N. gothica growing well in a window.

My best 2 are n. miranda and n. ventricosa x alata. N. ventricosa is harder to find, but very easy. Most intermediates (between low and high) are easy. Out of low and highland, high is DEFINITELY easier, but avoid ultra highland. They are VERY hard. Too bad they are the coolest looking. :D