Boozhoo from Cali

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Briena

Reaction score
Hi there :D

My name is Sabrina and I'm pretty new to the mantis pet keeper world but I LOVE THESE CUTE LITTLE BUGS! Which is odd because I hate bugs... I was directed here from a mantis breeder because I wanted to get some Idolomantis Diabolica to start breeding them with a friend of mine who breeds anything... seriously... anything. I couldnt find any online and so when the breeder directed me here I was so happy. I hope to find some soon so I can make my happy mantis family. So if anyone knows where I can get some Id be quite the happy camper. :)

Welcome! Idolomantis diabolica are considered one of the most difficult species to raise, not to mention they're pretty expensive too. If I were to make a suggestion, I'd say start out with something similar like maybe wandering violins, or if you want exotic without the price tag or additional heat requirements you could try ghosts. Good luck either way you choose, but be prepared for heartbreak if you go idolo!

Welcome from Yuma!

Naeff002 is right. Idolomantis is not the species to start with. It took on of our most experienced breeders over two years to get her first mating! Look around the threads to find what people here think are the easiest mantids to start with. The ghost mantis is a popular one.

Welcome, as you hear from my forum mates Idolo's are beauty and the beast and not in a good way, Violins and Ghosts may work out better and look stunning! :)