culturing blue bottle flies

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ramona

Reaction score
I am a Biology teacher in rural SD. My senior students each have 3 or 4 mantis they care for and it is amazing to see how much the students like there mantis. They are all named and usually taken out every school day for some exercise, etc. And the students do this on their own time not necessarily during class time.  My plight is that at this time of the year, it is difficult to obtain live food with our temps well below zero. We have about 50 mantis to feed. I have a new good supply of blue bottle flies and would like to try to culture from eggs thru the life cycle.   If any of you have some tried and true techniques, I would really appreciate the advise-- what to use for a meduim for the eggs to be laid in, etc.  Pictures also would be great!

@Ramona A quick answer is no one cultures bottle flies/blowflies ( just Melanogaster and Hydei fruit fly species primarily), and we simply buy fly pupae online. A few have had limited success culturing bottle flies but was not repeatable by them, or anyone who tried. Houseflies are said to be easier, but due to their much smaller size few have tried culturing them.

Culturing bottle flies outdoors is the only method that has been successful for members, but with winter in full force is not a option. Indoors typically is a very smelly effort (rotten meat, sour milk, rotten dog food, etc) that ends with dead flies before, or at, the pupae stage (mostly due to excess moisture). See some threads below (and more can be found searching the forum)...

For scientists in lab settings there are various papers/articles that have been published. Most however require some form of peer approved access (with previously published journal/article work) and/or available by paying a fee per article (often $15-$30+ per article).