Feeding T. sinensis (chinese mantis) hydei after hatching?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chalc

Reaction score
Hello everybody!

I'm very new to this hobby and I'm trying to get all the correct information I can on this species.
I'm not sure whether to feed them melanogaster or hydei flies after they first hatch from the ootheca. I've seen some people say that chinese mantids will take hydei right from the start, but I don't want to buy a culture only to find out that I can't feed my babies and they starve. Also, how soon should I feed them after hatching and how many? 

D. Hydei will do fine, T. Sin is a larger species. I've always used the Hydei with them and have had no problems. 

Wait atleast a day or two after hatch to feed, they'll probably except on the day after. 

Also, offer them a mist. 

Hello everybody!

I'm very new to this hobby and I'm trying to get all the correct information I can on this species.
I'm not sure whether to feed them melanogaster or hydei flies after they first hatch from the ootheca. I've seen some people say that chinese mantids will take hydei right from the start, but I don't want to buy a culture only to find out that I can't feed my babies and they starve. Also, how soon should I feed them after hatching and how many?
Hello and welcome to the forum, feel free to make a introduction post.
wave2.gif

If that is the only species your rearing anytime soon Hydei will be fine, and will save you from having to get two fruit fly cultures. ;) The Chinese mantis (Tenodera sinensis) nymphs are great eaters and should enjoy the Hydei easily enough as LAME says. On average there will be 100 nymphs or more from a single ooth (ootheca - egg sec), so be prepared.