G-Unit

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knollhawk

Reaction score
This is G-Unit. He hopped on my leg in Home Depot and it was destiny. I think he's a Chinese mantis...I'm new to this whole thing. Would never have gotten into it if he didn't hop on my leg that day. Anyway I've had him since 6/27/10 and he has molted twice. I feed him pet store crickets. When I first got him he was green, and after his molts he is now a light brown color. I do have some questions though about him and this hobby, if anyone could answer that would really help me out.

1. Sometimes G-Unit seems to "vibrate"...whats that about?

2. What is the process for getting into selling mantids? How would I set up online payments, etc. Are Chinese Mantids even a good idea to sell at this point? I know there's some controversy with population control, etc.

3. Are all young Chinese Mantids green? I just got another one and it's small and green. I really need help with differentiating instar stages, the research I've been doing isn't making it clear for me.

Thanks and enjoy the photos :)

g1.jpg

g2.jpg

g3.jpg

g-unit!.jpg

Well I'll give it to you, I don't let my mantids on my face! It freaks me out!

The vibration is just something they do. I notice mine do it more right before and right after a molt.

Not all Chinese are green when young then brown, mine was brown from the start and has developed darker brown with a bit of green on her wings.

As for the breeding, I don't know much about it. But whether selling or buying, you should setup a PayPal account first and foremost. Easiest way to send payments and receive them over the internet.

I'm glad you've gotten into mantids! It seems like G-Unit has a great home! I started with a Chinese ooth as a fun thing for my son and now I have 4 pet mantids and 5 more on the way!
laugh.gif