Gender?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kitsune_Gem

Reaction score
I'd like to know what gender I have, so when I turn in photos of them for class, I can say what gender and breed they are. Any help is greatly appreciated

There are three different ones, ranging from an inch or so to about three inches,

Number one: Biggest on.

IMG_1238.jpg

IMG_1239.jpg

IMG_1240.jpg

IMG_1241.jpg

IMG_1242.jpg

IMG_1243.jpg

IMG_1244.jpg

IMG_1245.jpg

IMG_1246.jpg

IMG_1247.jpg

I'm new to this whole thing, but they are eating well, and seem quite happy, Id love to get the info on them as soon as I can, so I can return them to my garden,

Number 2:

IMG_1248.jpg

IMG_1250.jpg

IMG_1251.jpg

Number 3:

IMG_1252.jpg

IMG_1253.jpg

IMG_1254.jpg

IMG_1255.jpg

IMG_1256.jpg

I'm new to this whole thing, but they are eating well, and seem quite happy, Id love to get the info on them as soon as I can, so I can return them to my garden,

#1 female

#2 male

#3 female

They are Mantis religiosa. :)

The common name is European mantis.

Last edited by a moderator:
Also, why does the male, have white and black on his little spots, and both females only have black? Does it have to do with the fact that they are male and female?

Also, why does the male, have white and black on his little spots, and both females only have black? Does it have to do with the fact that they are male and female?
I am not sure about why there are differences in the spots. Perhaps someone whow knows more about them can chime in and explain that. :unsure:

How would one go about breeding these?

Not that I want to, just wondering

Last edited by a moderator:
Both genders have the same variation to the markings on the coxa. Some will sport an eye spot. Meaning the the white center with the black ring around it. Like what your male has, or just a black marking. Whitch both your females are sporting. :)