Ghost seems weak

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trollolloller

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm still pretty new to the hobby and need help. I have one adult female and one sub-adult male ghost. The female molted just this Wednesday, and I caught her just towards the end of it in the middle of the day (they normally molt at night for me).

While she was still sub-adult, she was small enough to fit in her 32oz cup. She was hanging upside down from the foam plug on the lid, and mid-molt I saw her head pressed flat against the bottom of the cup like her head was holding her up. So I panicked and did what I thought was best at the time (in hind sight, I should have just pulled the plug up a bit to give her space from the bottom). I attempted to move her to a larger container and as I moved her, she slipped out of her skin and finished molting, so I thought she was good to walk around her new container and dry out. Instead, she was very very weak, with her legs unable to hold her up and her face pressed against the humidity foam. I didn't know at the time that the best thing would have been to, after attempting to move her, put her against the top of the container to hang upside down to dry properly. She was too weak for me to even think she could hang on her own. I made the mistake of neglecting the humidity levels, and just then sprayed her after I took her out.

In her new cup, if i nudged her along gently with my finger or blew on her, she'd move a bit and once or twice tried climbing up the side of the container, only to fall down on her back. I took her out and hand fed her some water droplets, but no food. It took her awhile to take the water. I think after that I set her back up on her cup lid to hang upside down, which she looked barely able to do.