Good wild-caught food?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dgerndt

Reaction score
Now that spring is upon us, I plan on going outside and searching for new foods for my mantids. Since I have only kept mantids for less than a year, I'm new to identifying bugs that make good meals. So I'm wondering... what do YOU like to feed to your mantids? I'm still rather limited to what I can catch since it's still pretty cold in Michigan, but I have seen some bugs outside. I know that moths, butterflies, flies, crickets, grasshoppers, bees, and other winged insects make good feeders. But what about beetles, pill bugs, worms, centipedes, grubs/larvae, and other bugs that live under rocks and logs?

The softer the exoskeleton the better,some beetles are to hard to chew through. grubs would work if your mantis will take them, but remember lawn fertilizer and pesticides can be on some insects outdoors and as one might not kill your mantis a build up of chemicals from a few might be bad.

So in the end I stick with the flying insects and crickets from outside, they don't live more than a few weeks so it would be hard to have any toxic build up.

Sure you can call me over careful but to me all the months of care per mantis is not worth a few free feeders.

I have two dogs so finding plenty of flies in one spot outside isn't a problem. :poop: I just use a large fish net for aquariums and get 3-4 at a time. plus the flies are already gut loaded with pollen and other good stuff.

You might have to explain to your neighbors that your not crazy, that your just feeding some hungry babies. :lol:

I'm pretty sure my neighbors will think I'm even crazier if I say I'm feeding hungry babies! They may even call Social Services on me! :lol:

I pray to the stool goddess daily for her to bring forth her fruit.

Just a joke:

What did the male fly say to the female fly sitting on a pile of