Hello and need advice

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jared185

Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm also a noob when it comes to mantis keeping though I'm not new to keeping insects. Now I've wanted a mantis for forever but I never pulled the trigger on one as of yet. With that said I didn't know it but my wife ordered 2 Chinese mantis egg cases and I have been doing some research to get ready for them to come in. I know how to hatch them making sure they don't dry hanging the egg cases upside down a branch etc. but my questions are this. I

1. I'd rather have 2 individual mantis but my wife did this without my knowledge and we can't send egg cases back to breeder once they get here so my question is what can I do with the other babies until spring comes?

2. I want to keep 2 of the praying mantis how do I determine which 2 are the healthiest and that I should keep?

3. My local pet store can't get in small enough insects so my local pet store said I should feed them raw hamburger meet on a string until they are large enough to eat normal feeder crickets is this ok?(Since my identity theft I don't order online anymore)

4. What substrate should I use in their aquarium I have a 20gal and a 10gal for the mantis to go into.

5) any other recommendations would be great

Sorry for all the questions on this post. and thanks for any and all replies

You can keep the two ooths, egg sacks, in the veggie crisper part of your fridge til spring. You dont want to deal with 300+ babies at once!

There are nice members here who can sell you afew babies for you to start with. That is best.

Hi all,