Hello from Mississippi

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LeighRay

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm April, hailing from the weird world of Mississippi. I am a beginner when it comes to Mantids, but I have a great love for the little alien-esque creatures. They make amazing characters to write into stories. Besides the butterfly and moth, they are the only insects I have found I'm able to be comfortable around.

I am very excited to learn more about these guys and eventually start raising my own when I'm finally settled from a move. My favorite mantis is the Phyllocrania paradoxa, but I'd love to know some species that would make good starter mantids, as well as ideas for a good starter habitat. 

Look forward to hearing from everyone!

Hey April! The ghost mantis is actually a pretty easy species to start with(I've had some bad experiences with them, although I'm the only one). As far as enclosures go, just start one out in a small deli cup, and when it gets bigger, they can live in a 32 oz deli their entire lives!

Thanks guys! I'm pretty excited about getting one later on. The more species I learn about, the more I hope to have one of each once I get through the beginner phase. 

Welcome! As the other guys and girls said, Ghosts are a very cool species to start with! They can be kept together in a big enclosure or apart in smaller containers, cannibalism rarely occurs but can still happen though. I've only raised Ghosts so far and they are really quite the special creatures! :D  

@SpaceWolf Yeah, they seem like a special species. They seem pretty chill and are intriguing to look at with their body designs and shades. I like the idea they can live close to each other, but keeping them separate will help me learn differences and personalities.