Hello!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emlz

Reaction score
IMG_5993.JPG

hello! I'm Emily and this is my first time trying to keep a mantis for a pet. This is my girl Disco.

IMG_6005.JPGI'm pretty sure she's a Carolina mantis. I found her on Saturday and I had a spare 6 gallon fish tank so I figured why not. I've successfully gotten her to eat a cricket from the pet store. I know feeding from the pet store can be risky but there aren't many bugs around right now so it was the best option I could come up with on short notice. Right now my plan is to feed her and mist the enclosure every two or three days and see how she does. I'm open to alternate suggestions though and any advice would be appreciated!

Awww it's cute! I personally don't feed my mantids crickets, I've heard stories and I'm too paranoid now, I feed them mealworms or superworms. Every person is different though, some have had no problems. 

Hello Emily and welcome to the forum
welcome.gif

It is indeed a female and a Carolina (Stagmomantis carolina) mantis you have there. :) Crickets should not be a issue, I've used them the last few years on hundreds of mantises and can only say I might have had one mantis death to blame on a cricket, and likely not even that one. Not sure why all the cricket hate, but I find those tend to be cockroach feeder people that have limited/no cricket experience but read something somewhere about it. ;)