Hello!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twogglettz

Reaction score
Hi guys. My name is Tae, I'm from the UK

I'm really new to the whole keeping mantises thing (like 2 weeks), but I've wanted one for ages. I have a female ghost mantis called Ostara who has just laid some eggs, so I'm hoping to get a bit more info on how to look after the ootheca. I know the basics, but I'm a little nervous about messing it up  :p

I used to breed tarantulas for a living, and from what I can tell, keeping mantises happy is not a million miles away from what I'm used to, especially the arboreal ones. Hopefully it'll be pretty easy!

Anyway, I hope you guys have a good day.

Hello Tae and welcome to the forum
welcome.gif

For ooth care take a look at the guide by Peter, see here. If you have specific questions just ask, otherwise there is too much to rewrite for a general guide.

Ah I've been doing the opposite and I've been getting into T's and arachnids in general for a year or so (just a terrestrial NW fan though). :D I currently have a rescued G. rosea named Harley that is 4" DLS and the pet store claimed she was 8 months old lol, and a unidentified T named Georgena I purchased from PetCo labelled as a B. albopilosum at maybe 0.5" DLS at most (now is about 1.5" DLS), photos here. I also have a Giant Vinegaroon (Mastigoproctus giganteu) and many bold jumping spiders (Phidippus audax) besides the other non-arachnid pets - and hope to get into Whipspiders (Phrynus marginemaculatus) soon as well. ;)

What species do you keep, breed, or prefer? Any photos? :D

Yes mantids though should be a welcomed relief compared to OW T's especially, or any T really. There is lots of information on the forum, just have a look around, use the search function, or ask. Have fun.