Help! Gave nymph too large of a fly!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canoodley

Reaction score
My giant African mantis is either 3rd or 4th instar (not sure which) and this is my first time raising one. I ran out of fruit flies so I ordered some blue bottles to replace them. They were much larger than I expected, but she was last fed 3 days ago so I figured I'd give it a shot. She grabbed it and struggled for a while trying to keep it still but eventually decapitated it. Now I'm looking at her and this fly is way too big for her to eat on her own. How do I take it away from her? When should I take it away? Please help, I'm really concerned that she'll over eat and I have no idea how to handle this!!

Picture of fly, half eaten:

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
If she was able to catch it in her own then she should be ok. Id say, let her eat it. When shes full she will drop it. Thats just my opinion.

Do they stop eating when they're full or do they keep going to the point of death, like goldfish?

Generally most mantises will stop on their own. Usually they slow down as they reach their limit and although they might hold on to it for a little while, they will eventually drop it. Sometimes a nymph that ate too much might spit up a little bit of the food later. That or routinely overfeeding can result in a higher chance of shedding problems do to the extra weight they are carrying in their abdomen. As a one time meal though I wouldn't be worried about it.

If you are really concerned however you can remove it. To get prey items back you can annoy the mantis by tickling at their abdomen, blowing on them, misting them with water, gently trying to coax the fly away, and so on. Usually they will let go without too much trouble, especially if they are already pretty stuffed.