Help molting?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bunnywafer

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have a single chinese mantis. I think it is a boy. This is probably his 4th or 5th molt and for the first time ever, he seems to be having trouble. He is hanging upside down but he has been molting for probably at least 3 days now. Before we've never even seen him molting, only seen the skin left over. For a little while I was worried he was dead, but he is alive....I see him flexing his body. We have tried misting him gently, but I am unsure if we should do anything else to help with the molting. I am a veterinarian and I have in the past had to help lizards molt by soaking them and gently pulling off the skin with thumb forceps. I've never done this with a mantis though and am worried he is so fragile that I'll do more harm than good by trying to help. Is there anything I should be doing? Before his mouthparts were covered in skin but it appears this AM he has gotten his mouthparts free.... I'm not sure if I need to try to hand feed him or if I should just let him be. I haven't seen him eat in awhile but I'm not watching 24/7 either. I'm worried even the action of me opening the enclosure and trying to hand feed him could knock him off his precarious perch. Any advice? This is my first mantis and first problem I've encountered and want to do the best for him. I'm a little surprised how attached I've gotten to him..... I know with lizards problems shedding can be an indication of an underlying health problem or problems with husbandry...if he makes it through this episode, is there anything we should be doing to prevent problem molts in the future?

Thanks!

That doesn't sound good. :(

Can you post a photo?

All of my mantids have molted within minutes, not days.