Help needed!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Prelan

Reaction score
although i have a lot of experience in keeping snakes, i am new to mantids and came home today to find that my mantid(H.Grandis) has had a terrible shed.he's lost one of his ''back'' legs because it was caught in the exo and the other 'back' leg is bent as a U, it bends the wrong way, and one of his 'middle' legs is back to front, so to speak. so he only has one functional 'standing' leg. i have read other topics in the health issues section but decided to make a post for myself as i couldn't find anything as drastic as this case.

i have been misting him every other day to once every three days, hes in a 24x15 aquarium and i use just some sort of universal reptile-amphib bark. he also has a live plant in there to help with the humidity and thats what he molted on but he chose a leaf really close to the soil. now he can't support himself when on a flat surface but can climb relatively well using his forearms, and when i mean relatively, thats exactly what i mean.

was this my fault? cuz i tend not to get the same issues with snakes, if they have a bad shed i just help them with a damp towel, but this is too much. maybe i took the caresheets information too literally when it said that ''these animals are really easy to keep'', and i feel guilty.

oh and i don't know what stage hes at but i'll measure him and count the sections on his back, but hes pretty big now. i'll also get some pictures and in the meantime i'll try some hand feeding.

i'm Steve btw

Thanks

Welcome. Be sure to intro yourself in the introductions forum.

I doubt it was anything you did wrong. Sometimes it just happens. It even happens to those of us who have been keeping these for years. It doesn't sound like your mantis will do well now. The next molt may be impossible due to its condition.