Help with feeding choice needed

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jack

Reaction score
I'm new to MantidForum, and completely new to raising mantis. I have a female, raised form hatching and just through the 7th molt, has her wings (Do not know what instar - I'm really new like I said). She is still eating nice big crickets, but I wonder if I should be giving her something more exciting. She is, after all, a high-class gal, and deserves the best. ALL advice is welcome. I'm finding this an exciting experience, as are many of my friends who are also residents in our retirement community.

Also, I have no idea what kind she is, nor do the folks at the butterfly garden where I bought the ootheca. I've tried to attach some pix, but get a "too big to upload" msg. Anyone know how big the file can be?

If she has full wings, she is adult and won't grow anymore :) My mantids seem to like flying insects more, since both the mantis and the prey stay off the ground. I don't have any idea how to get the pics to work, but if the mantis in your avatar is the one you are talking about It is adult and maybe carolina mantis?

I'm new to MantidForum, and completely new to raising mantis. I have a female, raised form hatching and just through the 7th molt, has her wings (Do not know what instar - I'm really new like I said). She is still eating nice big crickets, but I wonder if I should be giving her something more exciting. She is, after all, a high-class gal, and deserves the best. ALL advice is welcome. I'm finding this an exciting experience, as are many of my friends who are also residents in our retirement community.

Also, I have no idea what kind she is, nor do the folks at the butterfly garden where I bought the ootheca. I've tried to attach some pix, but get a "too big to upload" msg. Anyone know how big the file can be?