Hi All!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dcannao

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to mantid's and this forum, I come from the reptile world and as I have begun phasing out reptiles mantids have caught my attention. I have been a longtime fan of inverts but never had the opportunity to raise any, other than max I can red knee tarantulas and emperor scorpions, the only inverts available back in the 80's! However, I now have the time, the room, and the ability to begin a mantis collection. Obviously, orchid mantids are beautiful, and they are at the top of my list, I am open to suggestions for a beginner as well as literature to help me create the most optimal environment for them. Thanks for reading and I appreciate any feedback,

Darren

Hello Darren and welcome to the forum
welcome.gif

Mantids, at least local species were always available if you could collect them yourself. I use to get a few mantids as a kid in the 80s and many other things, but the insect rule with my mom was they had to be released before sunset. So I never got into keeping anything besides cats and dogs until a few years ago, when I found my first mantid pet and everything else started too. :)

Where to buy

To start with you can buy mantids from the classified section (see the feedback section about the sellers too). Of course there are many great sites to buy mantids and related goods from online such as BugsInCyberspace, MantisPlace, and PanTerra Pets the most common and recommended for mantids themselves.

Beginner mantis species