Hiya

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nub3

Reaction score
My real name is Dan, the name nub is just an online identity I use for gaming and stuff. Im 20 years old from England.

I wasnt gonna make an introduction post because I have nothing interesting to say really but hibiscusmile bullied me into doing it (no she didnt really, she sent a nice pm to me :) )

i'm not a proper breeder or expert like some of you guys but I have a general understanding and some experience keeping a few of the common species.

I used to keep mantids, other inverts and lots of reptiles when I was younger. I kept my first mantids when I was maybe 10 years old, back then I really knew nothing about them, I thought they looked poisonous and didnt even know they grew wings until I successfully kept one alive til adulthood.

So basically i've had mainly the common African species and chinese, but also I remember obtaining a few unknown species from local pet stores. I had one of those Long thin ones (I think the shop called it "Indian rose Mantis" ?) , I remember they told me they were social with eachother but their legs kept falling off mysteriously.

Also I remember some adult small green species I paid like £20 for when I was about 14 and it died 2 days later, I assume because it was about to die anyway.

I bought an ootheca from some shop not really knowing what I was in for then one day in my outdoor reptile house I saw like 150~ nymphs emerge from it. Thinking about it now, I think they looked like chinese nymphs. I did manage to get some fruit flies but still most of these ate eachother, or massacred eachother.

I sold and gave away some but the disabled ones I fed to my bearded dragons. I guess that was a bit heartless but I saw some people on here put their dying mantids in the freezer :eek: . Thats gotta be worse :p .