How do you prevent fruit flies escaping when feeding

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jenny Reynolds

Reaction score
I am a complete novice at keeping mantids but everything's fine except when it comes to popping fruit flies into their cups without the little so and so's escaping. What are your tried and tested ways please? They're sooo quick.

Also I've had a couple of flightless flies fly !! Maybe this is normal I don't know.

The flightless flies can still kinda hop/glide a bit they are not completely ground bound just almost.

Firstly you need to make sure all your cages have fruitfly proof fabric on them. I tend to buy shear ribbon from the dollarstore for this purpose but cheap curtain material or any thing like that you might find in a remenants bin at a fabric store also works well.

Second you will want to have some kind of little hole cut into your cages and plug it with a bit of foam. I tend to put these plugs on the lid.

Third make a similar hole and foam plug in your fruit fly cultures. I tend to put these plugs on the side of the culture container. This allows you better access to the flies as they gather on the lid.

Lastly make yourself one of these bad boys!

Then you can force it in to the culture via the foam plug, suck some up, then blast them into the cage with none or very very few escaping. It can take a little bit of practice to get flies into the blaster if your culture is not in full swing but you figure it out. 

Here is my thread of my fruit fly wrangling adventures. I was fighting flying flies however so you likely don't need nearly this many crazy contraptions. You can also see a picture of my cultures and their foam plugs.

Here are some of my smaller cages as well.

For details/photos of adding a feeding plug, see the post below (but there is lots of other information too, even if it needs updated)...