How to feed with fruit flies!! NOOB

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bwirth1999

Reaction score
OK i have done a search, but the list is huge, and so far no answer to my Q. My question is how exactly do i feed the nymphs?? do i just place the fly on the substrate?? If its dark substrate, will the nymphs have trouble seeing the tine fly?? Like my title says i am a noob....

I am planning on lettin my nymphs hatch into a 30 gallon cube aquarium, so it will provide lots of room, but is it too much room??

I have 5 chinese ooths and 5 Euro ooths.... planning on releasing most of them..

OH ALSO NEED the proper way to hang chinese ooths and euro ooths... the guy i got them from ddint give me any sticks with the ooths or at lest not enough of a stick...... i saw a post on this but the pics were gone...

I use a funnel to dump fruit flies into the container. The flies will crawl around.

A 30 gallon is pretty large and it depends on how many you have in there. I personally leave all the nymphs together until they are down to a number that is low enough to spit them into smaller containers.

I use hot glue to attach ooths to the lid. There is a line or vent running down the front where the nymphs will emerge. Just make sure you don't make that side the attachment point.