Howdy from Florida :D

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ezeleolos

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm Cary, and I'm so happy I found this forum!

I have a passion for taking care of mantids, and I have been growing them for a few years now.  Along with dragonflies, they are easily the most fascinating insect to interact with  :)  (especially after seeing a mantis fly!).  I've grown Chinese, S. Carolina, ghosts, spiny, and giant African mantids.  I started with the classic Chinese oootheca and learned a lot about cannibalism, and more importantly their place in nature.  After the first cycle of Chinese passed, I had a lot of luck with S. Carolina mantids in which about five adults almost made it through a full year and produced many fertilized ootheca for next year. 

Learning all about mantids really inspired me to teach children about the ecosystem, and the critters that are often disregarded due to being small and unfamiliar.  Even though it was really dangerous transporting the mantids to the schools and back, it was easily worth the struggle to see children light up with wonder and perhaps show a little more respect to insects/animals in the future.  I'd even introduce crazy thoughts into their heads such as "mosquitoes are an important part in the food chain, if we take them out then everything wonderful such as these mantids wouldn't get a chance to live.  They are the plankton of the swamp here, after all :D "  It is my goal to educate and provide mantids for the neighborhood kids and families. I have yet to meet a person that I introduced them to that found them boring. They are the perfect house pets, and I really enjoy having them inside wandering the house slaying "pests", or just hanging out from random locations up near the ceiling.  I swap them outside every few days to a mesh enclosure, but inside I always let them roam around!