I have a dumb question about fruit flies

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PlayingMantis

Reaction score
Ok...I've never worked with fruit flies before. I just got a D. melanogestor culture and it is literally crawling with FF's. I read up on how to take care of the culture, etc., but I have one really dumb question...how do I get say, 5-10 flies out of bottle, without the rest escaping?

Here is a picture of the camera pointing down at the top of the bottle, backlit from the bottom. As you can see, there are hundreds of flies crawling around on the wire mesh of the lid, and they're moving pretty quickly. I am afraid the moment I unscrew the lid, the bugs will all come crawling out. Am I supposed to give the bottle a few hard knocks so they drop to the bottom? Or turn it upside down or...? Or put it in the fridge for a few min (but will that hurt the flies?)?

Last edited by a moderator:
I knock the side and open just a crack over the container and snap the lid back on fast. Also get the lid on your mantis back on fast cause the flies climb really fast. I like that way better than a sponge stopper. There are some good threads about this predicament :)

I put mine in a tall jar with mesh lid n a couple of vents on the side for air flow. With it being tall it takes a few seconds for them to clim to the top. I knock them all down put a small cup inside the tall jar (cup with a lid works best). Put the mesh back on the jar wait a couple of mins until a few have climed up then knock them down. Some will fall into the cup. I then quickly remove the mesh n get the cup out put the lid on the cup n replace the mesh on the fruitflies jar. Then I take a few ff into each mantis home.

Hope this makes sense.