idolomantis diabolica- too many fruit flies harmful?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpusser510

Reaction score
Hi i am new to Mantid forum and need advice on feeding my idolomantis diabolica nymph-L3, i am having a hard time feeding him flightless fruit flies, he rarely eats them, will knock them away from him when they get close and has even grabbed a couple only to drop them. His abdomen has become very tiny and i am worried about him starving. I moved him into a smaller enclosure and put lots of flies in there but moving him stressed him out. He becomes very stressed and scared whenever the lid is taken off. I know this is due to the temperment of this species. I am wondering if the large number of flies is stressing him out and causing him to not eat and could potentially harm him and if i should take him out. I read a post where someone talked about using foreceps to hold a fly in front of their devils flower but mine gets very defensive and stressed whenever the enclosure lid is removed and he is disturbed so i dont think he would like that. Any advice on what to do? Thanks

You should be using a feeding hole, then you will not have to remove the lid anymore. A feeder hole is easy to add, just make a hole in the side or lid of the habitat large enough to add in the flies, about a 1/2" in diameter. Then you simply cut a piece of sponge foam to plug the hole. You can see picture of mine with a green sponge (cheap car washing sponge) plug, at this link.

Excessive flies will stress out your mantis from the movement, feeling crowded, and actually from being run into from the flies (they walk on everything). You should only feed it a few flies at a time, and remove any excess flies. Your mantis is grabbing and dropping the flies to get them off and away from him.