Lots of dead fruit flies in the culture

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sauromayne

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I went to feed Dante tonight and noticed that there were a lot of dead fruit flies in the culture. I last fed him on Monday and there were no dead flies.

My culture recently exploded. Last Friday I could only see maybe 10-15 flies and now since Monday I can see 100s of flies. I'm assuming this behavior is normal though, just this is the first culture I've had of this size as I'm new to this so not positive.

Is it normal for there to be some dead flies in the culture. If not, any ideas what might be wrong? Is it okay to continue feeding from this culture?

I bought it from local pet shop so not sure what they used for the media but I can ask tomorrow.

I attached some pics of the culture and the dead flies.

IMG_20180711_213508.jpg

IMG_20180711_213757.jpg

Is that all the dead flies there were? As far as I can tell there is nothing wrong with the culture. When you get a population explosion like that it means the culture is healthy. Fruit flies go through all their natural life cycle in the culture. That means you will get dead flies from time to time, they have a very short lifespan.