Molting and Feeding

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patrick

Reaction score
Newbie here with a couple of basic questions. I tried the search feature and couldn't find the answers I was looking for so I'm going to bug you experts. Hope you don't mind.

Got three orchid mantids yesterday, L3 I believe. Got them set up in small vials with a bit of coconut fiber to help maintain humidity and a piece of cork bark for a vertical surface. Does this sound ok for housing?

Two of them molted during the night. How long do I need to wait until feeding them after a molt?

Will they stop feeding prior to a molt ie., is there a pre-molt that they go through?

What kind of feeding schedule should I have them on? I've read to keep something available at all times to feed every four days.

Thanks, I appreciate the help.

Ok the housing sounds good. They will stop eating a while before molt then after give them 2 days and they should eat again. I usually feed them every time their stomach looks deflated.

Newbie here with a couple of basic questions. I tried the search feature and couldn't find the answers I was looking for so I'm going to bug you experts. Hope you don't mind.Got three orchid mantids yesterday, L3 I believe. Got them set up in small vials with a bit of coconut fiber to help maintain humidity and a piece of cork bark for a vertical surface. Does this sound ok for housing?

Two of them molted during the night. How long do I need to wait until feeding them after a molt?

Will they stop feeding prior to a molt ie., is there a pre-molt that they go through?

What kind of feeding schedule should I have them on? I've read to keep something available at all times to feed every four days.

Thanks, I appreciate the help.