New Guy, Help? :)

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thorhack

Reaction score
So i was at a gas station the other night and I saw a mantis, Chinese I think. I caught it in a cup and started driving home. Then I thought, damn it'd be cool to keep him as a pet. I've never heard of anyone keeping a mantis before! Then I got home and did some research and found tons of info and this site! So I'm just starting out I've only had him a couple days, got him in a normal plastic cage with a mesh top, with some water and twigs and I've been misting daily. But he still won't eat. I've tried to feed him crickets and moths and even a tiny fish but nothing. Oh and he's freaking huge. like...5-6 inches, dunoo what L that is but yeah He just sits clung to the top in the same spot, barely moving exept to drink. However when I take the top off all he wants to do is fly, and I'm worried he's gonna break something lol. His flying skills looked bad enough when I caught him. indoors is worse.

So I'd like some tips or tricks, I live in Independence, MO, USA and my name is Thor, any help is appreciated, later.

Oh and I'd like to buy some different breeds, this is a fascinating hobby. Pics soon

P1000534.jpg
P1000539.jpg
P1000547.jpg
P1000538.jpg

Welcome to the forum! :) That is a very pretty adult male chinese mantis you got there! :) The stick on the floor serves absolutely no purpus. If you want to keep a stick in there, it should at least reach from the floor of the critterkeeper to the top of the critterkeeper, for climbing purposes. Take the water bottle out. Chances are the mantis will probably never even drink out of it. Not to mention it has a good chance of drowing in it. You could give the mantis water by lightly misting the cage a few times a day. It will drink the droplets off the sides of the critterkeeper, if it's thirsty?

Welcome.