New Ikea Greenhouses

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beyoku

Reaction score
Hello I am new to the forum.

Right now I have two Mantids of different sex separated.

The male is in a small "Critter Keeper" box and the Female is in one of the large spiral mantis keepers.

Ikea has these new Greehouses for 20.00 a pop.

http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70186603/

The Greenhouses are not airtight but they look very nice and seem practical.

It would be quite simple to place something in the middle thus making two compartments. It is not air tight so it wouldn't be a proper terrarium but any suggestions?

I am new to keeping these and found them in my yard.

I have had them both for little over a 6/7 weeks, feeding them store bought crickets and whatever I can catch outside (moths, Grasshoppers). They have both molted in the last few days and they just "sprouted wings" - Are they ready to mate?

If they have sprouted wings, then a male should be ready to mate. A female should be ready soon enough. Look for her abdomen to start swelling.

I wonder if there was a way to replace a couple sides or the top doors with screen or something similar. It looks awesome, but ventilation would be a problem.

Anybody know what their dimensions are on those? Zoo Meds aren't fruit fly proof either, but dart froggers make the necessary modifications. No reason why you can't seal up the Ikeas as well. At $20, the price is right.

Anybody know what their dimensions are on those? Zoo Meds aren't fruit fly proof either, but dart froggers make the necessary modifications. No reason why you can't seal up the Ikeas as well. At $20, the price is right.
Product dimensions

Width: 17 ¾ "

Depth: 8 ¾ "

Height: 13 ¾ "

Width: 45 cm

Depth: 22 cm

Height: 35 cm

Last edited by a moderator:
Is it all glass? Ventilation would be an issue. Otherwise I like it.