Newbie here

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pray

Reaction score
I recently ordered some Mantis eggs, because I was sick and tired of losing all my garden plants to beetles, etc.

I was supposed to get one sac, with 40-400 offspring, but I got 2 sacs when my package arrived. I'm rather new to this, but I image it's ok to breed one sac inside my house as an insurance policy, and my other I decided to attach 3 feet from the ground to a corn-stalk, and see what happens.

I used to always be a bit intimidated by these things and try to stay away, but right now I am so sick and tired of losing all my vegetables and fruits to other bugs, and our city is banning the use of pesticides which is causing infestations to get out of control.

I recently ordered some Mantis eggs, because I was sick and tired of losing all my garden plants to beetles, etc.

I was supposed to get one sac, with 40-400 offspring, but I got 2 sacs when my package arrived. I'm rather new to this, but I image it's ok to breed one sac inside my house as an insurance policy, and my other I decided to attach 3 feet from the ground to a corn-stalk, and see what happens.

I used to always be a bit intimidated by these things and try to stay away, but right now I am so sick and tired of losing all my vegetables and fruits to other bugs, and our city is banning the use of pesticides which is causing infestations to get out of control.
Well the mantids will surely help you with that! I'm even guessing you'll keep a nymph as a pet once you see the cute little buggars pop out :lol:

Welcome to the forum!

Last edited by a moderator:
pesticides suck - as they kill both harmful and beneficial insects. welcome to the forum :) apart from insects there are other ways to guard your crops/veggies :)