Non-hungry mantid, getting worried...

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Herp13

Reaction score
Hey all, my Chinese mantid is not eating. I will get pics up as soon as possible but basically i don't know how old it is(i'm very new to the hobby) and it isn't eating, it only had half a cricket the night i got it(Monday the 7th) and has eaten nothing else since then. Everytime it gets a chance to eat, it seems to "miss" it's prey, or could it be flicking the prey away in preperation for a molt? Right now it's in an Exo-terra explorarium (18"x12") with just a bandable vine for extra surface to climb on, although it seems to like hanging upside down. Should i just leave it alone, or what? ANy suggestions would be great:)

If it's not yet adult it is probably about to molt. If it acts and looks fine otherwise just leave it alone and see what happens. Welcome to the forum, we have a new member introductions forum so you can introduce yourself.

Use some substate in the bottom that holds moisture. I like to use the dry spaghnum moss you can buy. It hold a lot of water. Or you can mist the enclosures sides.

Ok:) I have a bunch of moss, i'll definetly try it, but i noticed he drank a lot when i heavily misted the cage this morning, could it have been he was dehydrated? Over here in Maryland it is REALLY hot right now, and VERY dry. So after that i went out to my neigbors lil garden and happend to see a bunch of these little "stink bugs" and caught a few, but he hasn't eaten any, yet:)

I've noticed that the only times mine drink water is when I have let the moss get really dry and have forgot to mist.

my mantids dont like stink bugs, i think their natural stinky defence works well on them :wink: . the same goes for ladybirds.