Orchid Nymph development timing

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zoegp

Reaction score
Hello all,

I recently purchased a bunch of L2 orchid nymphs  from Mantis Dictator and I am very excited to rear them. This is my first time raising orchids. What are the average times between instars? How long do they take to reach adulthood, and how long do they live once they are adults? 

I understand that development time can vary a lot by temperature and food quantity. I have heat lamps and a source for excessive amounts of fruit flies and houseflies. I would love to hear about your experience with development time!

Thank you!

On a related note, why are the nymphs called L1, L2 etc for each of their instars? Specifically, what does the L stand for? 

This should help!

Also more specific quote from it to help answer your question

"

Development

• Molts take place about every three weeks until the ultimate molt which can take twice as long. Hatchlings are red and black and may mimic certain assassin bugs. Later instars to adult are white to pink.
  • Adults live from three to six months, rarely much longer.
  • Molting rarely encounters problems in captivity despite the leg extensions. " -Orin

What’s up with this L1, L2, L6 business?

Sorry about that! The L-numbers are a very easy way to signal the developmental stage of a praying mantis. It is used by biologists for many insect species. When the praying mantis is born it is at L1 level, the first instar. When it molts it sheds its skin and reaches the second instar, L2. Usually it looks different too. Every consecutive molt it will go up in L-number until it reaches adulthood. Then it is just called “adult”. Sometimes the second last stage will be called subadult, indicating it needs only one more molt to become adult. "

(https://www.keepinginsects.com/praying-mantis/faq/)