Possible Sick Mantis, Help!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok, I found a mantis and have been keeping it for a few months now, it recently laid and egg case, maybe 2-3 weeks ago, but has now become fat looking and clumsy, this didn't happen when she was getting ready to lay the egg case. I have not changed the amount of crickets used to feed her and she stayed thin before, but is that because she was using the energy for the eggs? I am totally new to mantis raising so I don't know what to do. She used to spend all day clinging to the ceiling of her critter crate only lunging down to snatch up a cricket but now she seems to be weak and lyes on the floor of the container. Is she sick and if so what can I do? Is it her diet? Is it just what happens after mantis females lay eggs? I don't know how much this will help but I found the mantis wild in North California, she is yellow will white spots on the inner forarms, that is the closest description I have to identify her species. Also she is approximatly 2.5-3 inches, if it is the diet what amount of crickets would you recomed and how often, currently I have been buying in batches of 16 and replacing them when they run out because I read that they could eat up to 16 a day but that hasn't been happening. Thank you for any solutions you can give and tips because I intend to keep atleast a few of the nymphs if they hatch. Thank you and reply fast, This could be life or death. If there is no hope tell me how to put her out of her misery humanely.

Welcome. Please check out the introductions forum.

It sounds to me like your mantis is simply old and nearing the end of her life. There isn't much you can do for a sick mantis and there sure isn't anything at all you can do about an aging mantis. Sadly they have short life spans.