Post/mid ooth lay... what's up with her?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ladire

Reaction score
So, one of my Chinese females laid her first ooth today (not fertile).... her abdomen had been soooo fat lately, I figured it was about to happen. This is my first time witnessing an ooth laying!

Well, I first noticed her laying it about 5 or 6 hours ago. But now, she is still upside-down, and still "attached" so-to-speak to the ooth, and she is sitting completely still. I mean she literally has not moved an inch! I was worried she was dead or something, but I can see her antennae move every once in awhile.

This can't be normal, right? How long does it normally take to finish laying? I feel like the ooth is going to stick to her abdomen when it dries since she hasn't moved away from it. What gives?

It takes a lot out of them. (no pun intended) My Chinese female wouldn't move for hours after she would lay, She's probably okay

Do you have any children, Wren? Didn't you want to lie still for a while after giving birth?
biggrin.gif

Do you have any children, Wren? Didn't you want to lie still for a while after giving birth?
biggrin.gif
lol!!!! no, I actually do not have any children, but i see what you're saying. She actually finished, moved away from the ooth, and seems to be resting comfortably now. Is she going to be hungry soon? Should I try to feed her?

Also, is she going to be protective of the ooth? Should I be cautious when trying to remove it? (lol, that sounds so funny... like stealing something from an insect could be potentially hazardous, ha!)

Thanks guys for the input.

lol!!!! no, I actually do not have any children, but i see what you're saying. She actually finished, moved away from the ooth, and seems to be resting comfortably now. Is she going to be hungry soon? Should I try to feed her?