Questions about care for a Ghost Mantid

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fuzzypants

Reaction score
Hello everyone, recently (yesterday) my room mate decided to get me a gift to celebrate spring (yes we are weird like that) and got me a ghost mantid. While it is SUPER cool and I think I've watched the mantid more in the last 24 hours then anything else BUT I need to figure out how to care for him. I'm no expert not even a newbie I'm lower then that. Right now I have "him" in what looks to be like a large deli cup from the olive bar..something like this...

32oz_Deli_Cup.jpg

2 sticks that cross each other. I also "installed" a mesh cover so air flow can go in and out. From my readings (aka jam course 101) I've found out...

- "he" needs to be sprayed 3-4 times a week

- eats crickets, small roaches, flys, I assume butterflys and moths when it comes to be that season in new england

- enjoys the company of others but might quickly turn to cannibalism if not enough food is present (I think thats what I read at least lol)

- You can offer "him" a small drop of honey as a treat every now and then

- the mantis is kept in my room where its slightly warmer "his" cup reads 75 degrees and humidity is 60%

- lives a long time...whatever that means

am I missing anything else? I'm aware ghost mantis aren't good "beginner" mantis but I'd rather not see this guy die to my neglect. I'll post pictures later tonight when I get out of class

covered pretty much everything! Might want to keep a sheet of paper towel on the bottom to absorb moisture and help out. I got 5 of these guys and they've been growing well on me =)